Tim Fisher has much more than 30 years' of professional modern technology experience. He's to be writing around tech for an ext than two decades and serves as the VP and General Manager of betterworld2016.org.

You are watching: How to deactivate uac with msconfig


*
*
*
*
*
*

edit the registry

Another way to completely disable UAC is with a home windows Registry tweak. It"s a bit much more involved 보다 the manage Panel an approach but tho doable.


Is It safe to turn Off UAC?

User Account Control's default state is to be enabled. And also for a good reason. Under typical circumstances, you'd gain a prompt to confirm assorted actions prior to they deserve to take ar on your computer. Most notably, when installing programs, opened Registry Editor, and an altering key mechanism settings. Several tasks create the prompt.


What leads most people to desire to disable UAC is that it can be annoying. Being bombarded by these prompts every time you desire to operation those tasks can seem intrusive. Most civilization probably don't think twice once it appears, click as quick as possible to acquire past it and on to every little thing it is they to be doing before.


Although it's easy to forget since of how frequently you see it, the notice is there for a reason. If you're not careful, you could accept a malicious program's inquiry for elevated privileges, which could ultimately lead to terrible results. The rights it had prior to get upgraded since you offered it the go-ahead.


This procedure is put on auto-drive when UAC is off. Every one of those critical, system-related work that you must vet prior to taking place are granted elevated permissions there is no a 2nd thought. Opened Registry Editor just...happens—no prompt. Program installations have the right to proceed silently without your authorization. You have the right to see just just how dangerous that might be.

See more: Daoism Ideas About Order And Harmony, Daoist Philosophy


We don't recommend that you rotate off User Account Control. But if you have to temporarily for whatever reason, be sure to re-enable it once you complete your task.