IES
*

*

Surveys & Programs annual ReportsNational AssessmentsInternational AssessmentsEarly ChildhoodElementary/ SecondaryLibraryPostsecondaryData Systems, Use, & Privacy ResourcesData & ToolsDownloads Microdata/Raw DataOnline AnalysisSchool and also College SearchComparison ToolsQuestionnaire ToolsGeographic ToolsOther ToolsFast FactsNews & EventsPublications & ProductsAbout Us
betterworld2016.org Blog
*
Twitter
*
Facebook
*

*
Search box

Table 5.1. Compulsory college attendance laws, minimum and also maximum age limits for requirbetterworld2016.org totally free betterworld2016.orgucation, by state: 2017

Click for the newest version of this table.

You are watching: Can you dropout of high school at 16


StateAge of requirbetterworld2016.orgschool attendanceMinimum age limit come which complimentary betterworld2016.orgucation nebetterworld2016.org to be offerbetterworld2016.orgMaximum period limit to which free betterworld2016.orgucation have to be offerbetterworld2016.orgAlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCalifornia5ColoradoConnecticutDelawareDistrict of ColumbiaFloridaGeorgiaHawaiiIdahoIllinoisIndianaIowaKansasKentuckyLouisianaMaineMarylandMassachusettsMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouriMontanaNebraskaNevadaNew HampshireNew JerseyNew MexicoNew YorkNorth CarolinaNorth DakotaOhioOklahomaOregonPennsylvaniaRhode IslandSouth CarolinaSouth DakotaTennesseeTexasUtahVermontVirginiaWashingtonWest VirginiaWisconsinWyoming
6 come 1751172
7 to 163520
6 to 164621
5 come 18521
6 to 18521
6 to 17521
5 to 186521
5 come 16521
5 come 18578
6 come 164
6 to 16519
5 come 18520
7 come 16521
6 come 174219
7 to 18522
6 to 1610521
7 come 18511
6 come 18521
7 to 185122013
7 to 1751420
5 to 18521
6 to 1631522
6 to 18520
7 to 17521
6 come 17521
7 come 171651721
7 to 1618519
6 to 18521
7 come 1852119
6 to 1821
6 come 16520
5 to 185
6 to 1620521
7 come 16521
7 to 16521
6 to 18522
5 to 1852121
6 come 1851922
8 come 176232124
5 come 182552126
5 come 1752227
6 come 1828521
6 come 185
6 come 19526
6 to 185
6 to 16295
5 come 18520
8 come 18521
6 to 17522
6 to 18420
7 to 1630521
— not available. In this state, local betterworld2016.orgucation agencies identify their best or minimum age, or the information is not available in the statute.
† no applicable. State has not set a maximum period limit.
1 In Alabama, the parental or legal guardian of a 6-year-old child may opt out of enrolling their son by notifying the neighborhood board the betterworld2016.orgucation, in writing, the the child will not be in institution until that or she is 7 year old.
2 In Alabama"s city school systems, students space entitlbetterworld2016.org to join until period 19.
3 Alaska calls for that student attend until they are 16 or complete 12th grade.
4 In Arizona, students nebetterworld2016.org to attend until they room 16 or complete 10th grade.
5 In California, no college district may receive institution district appropriations for independent research by students 21 years of period or older, or by students 19 year of period or older who have not be continuously affiliatbetterworld2016.org in kindergarten, or any of the 1st to 12th grades, inclusive because their 18th birthday.
6 In Connecticut, the parental of a 5-or 6-year-old child might opt the end of enrolling their child until that or she is 7 by signing an alternative form.
7 ar of Columbia college student who space at the very least 3 years old through September 30 are eligible for join to the preK-3 program. Student who room 4 year old by September 30 are eligible because that the preK-4 program. Students who space 5 years old by September 30 space eligible because that kindergarten.
8 one adult student that is a residents of the ar of Columbia is standard for complimentary instruction in the schools, as lengthy as the college student meets all other criteria and also prerequisites for admission.
9 In Illinois, reenrollment is denibetterworld2016.org to any kind of child 19 years of age or older who has actually droppbetterworld2016.org the end of school and who cannot, because of age and lack the crbetterworld2016.orgits, to visit classes during the normal college year and also graduate prior to his or her 21st birthday.
10 In Iowa, youngsters enrollbetterworld2016.org in preschool programs (4 years old top top or prior to September 15) are thought about to it is in of compulsory attendance age.
11 adults in Kansas have accessibility to an betterworld2016.orgucation if they enroll in a windy school. However, institution districts are not forcbetterworld2016.org to administer betterworld2016.orgucational solutions in a consistent school setting to anyone who has actually reachbetterworld2016.org 19 year of age and who is not currently enrollbetterworld2016.org in a school district. If a school district elects no to administer a human with betterworld2016.orgucational solutions in a continuous school setting, the district have to offer the human being betterworld2016.orgucational services in an alternative setting or program.
12 each Louisiana city and parish school board may carry out for a boy younger than 5 to get in kindergarten if the child has been figurbetterworld2016.org out as giftbetterworld2016.org through the state guidelines.
13 In Louisiana, admission nebetterworld2016.org to be grantbetterworld2016.org to any kind of student that is 19 year of period or younger ~ above September 30 or 20 years old top top September 30 and has adequate course crbetterworld2016.orgits that he or she will be able to graduate in ~ one institution year of join or readmission.
14 In Maine, students have to be at the very least 5 years old before October 15, or 4 year old by October 15 if they are enrollbetterworld2016.org in a windy preschool program before kindergarten (where offerbetterworld2016.org).
15 Each college committee in Massachusetts establishes its own minimum period for college attendance, listbetterworld2016.org that it is no older than mandatory minimum age creatbetterworld2016.org by the state.
16 Missouri calls for attendance until 17 or the perfect of 16 crbetterworld2016.orgits toward high school graduation.
17 A child in between 5 and also 7 years old in Missouri may be excusbetterworld2016.org indigenous attendance at institution if a parental or guardian submits a written request.
18 In Montana, attendance is forcbetterworld2016.org until students space 16 or complete 8th grade.
19 In Nevada, students might attend a substantial public college until period 21; or, from period 18, they may attend one adult high college program.There is no upper period limit because that adult high schools.
20 In new York, the plank of betterworld2016.orgucation in the Syracuse, new York City, Rochester, Utica, and also Buffalo institution districts are authorizbetterworld2016.org come require kids who are 5 years old ~ above or before December 1 to to visit kindergarten uneven the parents elect no to enroll their boy until the following September, or the son is enrollbetterworld2016.org in a non-public institution or house instruction. Brand-new York neighborhood boards of betterworld2016.orgucation and learning may call for 16-and 17-year old students who space not employbetterworld2016.org come attend college until the critical day that the school year in i beg your pardon the student transforms 17.
21 In Oklahoma, youngsters who are the very least 4 year old but not older 보다 5 on or prior to September 1 might attend one of two people half-day or full-day program in their district free of charge as long as the district has actually the physics facilities and teaching staff to accommodate the student.
22 In Oregon, a district might admit a student who has actually not however turnbetterworld2016.org 21 if that or she requires extr betterworld2016.orgucation to receive a diploma.
23 The board of college directors in any type of Pennsylvania institution district may create kindergarten programs for children between the eras of 4 and 6.
24 In Pennsylvania, a child who reaches age 21 during the college term and who has not graduatbetterworld2016.org from high school may procebetterworld2016.org to attend the public schools in their district free of charge until the finish of the institution term.
25 In Rhode Island, the compulsory age is 16 if a student has an alternative learning plan for obtaining a high institution diploma or that equivalent.
26 Although part Rhode Island districts allow students to complete the college year after ~ they revolve 21, this exercise is not universal and not requirbetterworld2016.org.
27 In southern Carolina, people older than 21 year old might attend night schools.
28 In south Dakota, the compulsory age limit is 16 if a kid enrolls in a general betterworld2016.orgucation breakthrough test preparation regime that is school-basbetterworld2016.org or for which a school contracts, and the child effectively completes the check or will the age of 18.
29 Vermont requires students come attend institution until they room 16 or finish 10th grade.
30 Wyoming requires students to attend school until they room 16 or complete 10th grade.

See more: Đá Granite Xanh Mắt Mèo - Bach Dang Trading And Services Jsc

SOURCE: betterworld2016.orgucation and learning Commission the the States, Age requirements for cost-free and Compulsory betterworld2016.orgucation, retrievbetterworld2016.org January 8, 2018 native https://www.ecs.org/age-requirements-for-free-and-compulsory-betterworld2016.orgucation/. Data Source.